Debra Balchen, “Fallen Angel,” hand-painted ceramic, 12 x 9-1/2 x 12 inches

Each of those years has seen a brilliant display of sculptural mastery via the National Sculpture Society. And now through October 29, you can observe the incredible works of 47 contemporary sculptors featured during the 84th Annual National Sculpture Society Awards Exhibition. Where?

The 84th Annual National Sculpture Society Awards Exhibition is on view through October 29 at Brookgreen Gardens in Pawleys Island, South Carolina. Each year, the display is the NSS’s most popular show. Hundreds of artists apply to the juried competition, which offers thousands of dollars in cash prizes. The variety of subject matter and media exhibited represents the diverse styles, backgrounds, and disciplines of NSS members.

Douglas Aja, “Dionysus,” bronze, 12 x 20 x 10 inches
Eirik Arnesen, “Disintegrating Mortal,” aqua resin, 60 x 40 x 30 inches

This year the Jury of Selection chose the 47 works from among 233 entries. The jury included Tom Durham, NSS and director of fine arts sculpture, Academy of Arts University; Debra Force, president of Debra Force Fine Art, Inc.; and Margaret Keelan, sculptor and associate director of sculpture at Academy of Art University in San Francisco.

Bela Bacsi, “Charlotte,” marble, 32 x 12 x 11 inches
Kevin Chambers, “Requiem,” bronze, 36 x 11 x 8 inches

Sculptors featured in the exhibition are: Douglas Aja, Eirik Arnesen, Béla Bácsi, Debra Balchen, Alison Belt, Meredith Bergmann, Claudette Bleijenberg, Betty Branch and Polly Branch, Lindley Briggs, Kate Brockman, Lewis Brown, Shuhai Cao, Jay Hall Carpenter, Kevin Chambers, LeaAnn Cogswell, Beverly Davis, Darrell Davis, Tom Durham, Barry Eisenach, Ruth Green, Lee Hutt, Scott Johnson, Amy Kann, Kenneth Kearney, Kristina Kossi, Glenn Marlowe, Roger Martin, Paul Moore, Dora Natella, Olga Nielsen, Peregrine O’Gormley, Louise Peterson, Carl Raven, LaQuincey Reed, Diana Reuter-Twining, Paul Rhymer, Rosetta, Jeffrey Rudolph, Rikki Morley Saunders, Adam Schultz, Sandy Scott, Tom Silveroli, Christopher Smith, James Stewart, Oceana Rain Stuart, Jeremiah D. Welsh, and Yang Wen.

LeaAnn Cogswell, “Mike Criscuolo,” terra cotta, 18 x 9 x 12 inches
Ruth Green, “Carry On,” bronze, 8-1/4 x 10 x 3-1/2 inches

A Jury of Awards will convene after the show is installed. The award winners will be announced at a closing reception on October 28; the Brookgreen Gardens “People’s Choice” award will be announced at that time as well.

To learn more, visit the NSS.

This article was featured in Fine Art Today, a weekly e-newsletter from Fine Art Connoisseur magazine. To start receiving Fine Art Today for free, click here.

Previous articleFeatured Artwork: Beth Bathe 
Next articleFeatured Lot: Tasteful Impressions
Andrew Webster is the former Editor of Fine Art Today and worked as an editorial and creative marketing assistant for Streamline Publishing. Andrew graduated from The University of North Carolina at Asheville with a B.A. in Art History and Ceramics. He then moved on to the University of Oregon, where he completed an M.A. in Art History. Studying under scholar Kathleen Nicholson, he completed a thesis project that investigated the peculiar practice of embedded self-portraiture within Christian imagery during the 15th and early 16th centuries in Italy.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here